Your Arizona medical marijuana card must be renewed annually. The state renewal application fees are the same as the initial application, though certification fees from doctors may vary. If you do not renew your card prior to it’s expiration date, your card will not be valid and you will not be able to purchase medical marijuana.
For annual renewal, you will be required to submit similar information as was required in the original qualifying patient application. However, there are several documents that must be new or current and include:
- a new, current physician certification
- a new, current photograph
- a new Patient Attestation Form signed and dated with the current date
For further information, you can read this fact sheet.
If your qualifying patient card was lost or stolen, visit the AZDHS medical marijuana website. You will need to enter your card number, first and last name, and date of birth. You will also be required to upload a scanned copy of your identification (driver’s license, etc.) and pay a $10 fee. Once your new card is issued, your old card will become void.
State law prohibits you from using medical marijuana at a dispensary, from smoking marijuana in public places, or from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of marijuana. Consumption of infused edible or other products is allowed away from a dispensary.
The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act states that an employer will not be able to penalize you for a positive drug test for marijuana, if you hold a qualifying patient card, and did not use, possess, or be impaired by marijuana while on employment premises or during hours of employment.
You can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a rolling 14-day period with your AZDHS medical marijuana card.
A designated caregiver must be at least 21 years old, have a qualified patient that lives more than 25 miles away from a state-licensed dispensary, agree to assist the qualifying patient in the medical use of marijuana, and not have been convicted of a felony offense.
You may not be a designated caregiver for more than five qualifying patients and may not apply for the designation yourself. A qualified patient must submit the application on your behalf, designating you as their caregiver.
You may be both a qualified patient and a designated caregiver, so long as you meet the requirements for both.
In order to cultivate marijuana in Arizona, you must be a qualified patient and live more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, or be a designated caregiver. You may apply to cultivate at the same time that you apply for your patient card. If approved to cultivate, you are limited to 12 plants per qualifying patient.
To find out if you live within 25 miles of a state-licensed dispensary, input your address here.